Sun-Compass Doodle

Sun Compass Doodle 2
Sun Compass – This theme occurs a lot in my drawings. Is this a symbol of God, or the Lord? ~ Doodle by Mia Thriver MiaThriver.com

The above doodle was drawn before I created my Mia Thriver ID, it was drawn before I decided that doodling was therapeutic for me. This sun-compass doodle was drawn absentmindedly at a moment when I was listening to a church talk and wanting something to do with my hands.

The sun-compass is a symbol that recurres often in my doodles. The Sun Compass combination of the symbol of a compass and a sun together. It is a natural doodle I like to draw. I draw it often.

Right from the start the sun-compass was an important part of my Mia Thriver ID without me even planning it or knowing it.

Mia Thriver Big Doodle
Doodle of my name Mia Thriver ~ Doodle by Mia Thriver, MiaThriver.com

You can see the sun-compass on the right of my name shinning out in its featured spot. The sun-compass also accrues in a doodle I use for my background.

Freedom
Freedom ~Doodle by Mia Thriver

Here you can see it in the word Freedom, peeking out behind the letters. It is as if the sun-compass is a necessary part of obtaining Freedom.

courage edited2
“Courage isn’t having the strength to go on. It is going on when you don’t have strength.” ~ Doodle by Mia Thriver

Here you can see the sun-compass behind the word strength. Again it is as if the sun-compass is an important part of strength.

stranger spirit cropped2
“The Human Spirit is stronger than anything that can happen to it” ~Doodle by Mia Thriver.

Here you can see the sun-compass behind this inspirational quote about human spirit. It is as if the sun-compass is the light of the human spirit that shines out in the darkness.

bricks pieced together cropped 5
Bricks ~ Doodle by Mia Thriver

Interestingly enough with all the doodles I used in these bricks I never used the sun-compass in them. In the bottom right you can see a bit of a sun, but really there is no doodle with a compass in it.

Safe Little World Composite
My Safe Little World ~ Art Doodle by Mia Thriver

Here the sun is smiling happily over My Safe Little World. The Sun is does not have a compass joined in with it. The sun is a very important part of this image to help show the warmth and happiness in My Safe Little World. This is when I realized that the sun-compass symbolizes God, or Jesus to me. Jesus is warm, loving, caring, and Jesus is the compass of truth to the world. I see it now so clearly as I look over my older drawings, the sun-compass is a symbol of Jesus and God and their goodness and direction they give to my life.

It was about the time I drew the picture My Safe Little World that I started to notice the pattern of the sun-compass in my doodles. Maybe now that I have noticed it will accrue less, maybe it will accrue more, we will have to see.

Leave a comment